day for Oxford Elementary School in 1925 found 78 students, two
teachers and Principal, Miss Agnes Louden, housed in three portable
buildings. The actual school building was under construction and
fully occupied and dedicated in the '27-'28 school year. Prior to
1925, students attended old Noble Road School. Junior high students
were housed in the Quilliams wing of the building until 1930 when
Monticello Junior High was opened.
PTA, originally called Quilliams PTA, was founded in 1926. Since
then the PTA has functioned as an active and vital link between
parents and school. The PTA has sponsored many groups, made annual
gifts to the school and provided countless informative programs
to entertain and enlighten the community.
sponsored its first girl scout troup in 1931, followed in 1933 by
boy and cub scout troups. The 30's also saw formation of an active
Book Review Club, Drama Club and The Oxford Garden Club, the latter
sponsoring an annual Flower Show. During this period a school P.A.
system was installed; and, due to the work of the Safety Committee,
the road in front of the school was closed and turn-arounds were
constructed. In 1938, the first skit-type Father's Night Program
WPA Mural-- Pied Piper.
Oxford has always
had a rich heritage in the arts. The late 30's brought WPA projects
responsible for our two murals, painted by Gladys Carambella and
the storybook character ceramics. The hydrocal relief panels, by
LeRoy Flint, were added in 1941. After school classes in ceramics
were formed in the mid 40's, taught by Edris Eckhardt; and were
so popular that Oxford received its own kiln in 1941. A life-size
figure of Alice in Wonderland was commissioned by the PTA in 1954.
On the 50th anniversary of Oxford School the PTA commissioned a
new mural by Gloria Mark.
Second World War found Oxford actively involved in war relief. Red
Cross classes were formed and met weekly.
has had only seven principals in its history. Miss Agnes Louden
retired after 26 years of service in 1951, and Miss Ila Vincent
joined the staff. Miss Vincent remained until 1968 when she retired
and Mr. James Evans came to Oxford. In 1979 Mr. Winston Adams replaced
Mr. Evans. Upon Mr. Adams untimely death in 1985, Mrs. Delores Vehar
was appointed. Mrs. Vehar retired in 1999 and Ms. Christine Fowler
became principal. In 2002, Ms. Fowler transferred to Wiley Middle
School and Mrs. Kelly Stukus became principal at Oxford Elementary
1953, Oxford got its own library, which was doubled in the 1963-64
of school grounds was a popular project for many groups. A bird
sanctuary, rock garden and amphitheater were all established; and
in 1969 the students themselves got involved by purchasing and planting
shrubs around the building.
1972 a bond issue was passed which provided for the remodeling of
Oxford. Major work was completed in 1974. The building, as we know
it today, is largely the result of concerned Oxford parents and
teachers. Along with the fight to preserve our murals, considerable
controversy existed as to whether classrooms were largely maintained
and new library/media center added. The end result was a vibrant,
relaxed and efficient surrounding for students and teachers alike
articles courtesy of Cleveland Press Collection, Cleveland State University